Text Size Print Share

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, ensures effective, up-to-date health care coverage and promotes quality care for beneficiaries. CMS is the largest payer for the healthcare coverage of people with low-income living with HIV/AIDS.  Read more about HIV/AIDS resources from CMS.

Medicare is a health insurance program for people age 65 or older, people under age 65 with certain disabilities, and people of all ages with End-Stage Renal Disease (kidney failure requiring dialysis or a kidney transplant). 

Medicaid is available to certain low-income individuals and families who fit into an eligibility group that is recognized by Federal and State law. Medicaid does not pay money to individuals; instead, it sends payments directly to health care providers. Medicaid is a State-administered program and each State sets its own guidelines regarding eligibility and services.

Connect with CMS

Featured Resources

Additional Resources

Content provided by CMS.

Last revised: 10/01/2011